Elf Studio Blush Palette- Review!

Published November 16, 2014 by majormakeupmadness

Hey guys,

So much has happened since I last blogged, such as, I MET PAUL HOLLYWOOD (aka my future husband) I saw him recently on his ‘British Baking Live’ tour. I may or may not have gone to the staff car park after the show and found the car he was in and got him to sign my phone and book of his…GUILTY! *Internal Screaming*

But in other news, for the last 2 weeks I’ve been trying out the new ELF studio blush palette in Dark, and by new, I mean it’s been out in the UK for a month.

First off, here’s a picture of the palette and the shades:SAM_7653SAM_7504

First things first, how pretty is that bottom left shade? That’s Christmas in a blush.

The first thing that striked me when I saw the palette was how sleek and compact it was, considering there were 4 blushes inside. When I opened the palette I was also very impressed at the big mirror, it’s the sort of thing you’d be massively thankful for if you were doing your makeup on the go, such as on a train. Personally, the packaging of a product can be the deciding factor for me whether or not to buy it, if I’m not sure. Such a cosmetic reason for buying cosmetics (you see what I did there).

And then there’s the blushes themselves. There is a light and dark version of the blush palette, and both are £7.95 each. I’ve talked about the ELF studio powder blushes many times before because their: smooth, pigmented and cheap- what’s not to love? But when you think about it, it’s very efficient to buy this palette as each blush works out about £2 each which is a STEAL.

Each blush is very smooth, and there isn’t much fall out when you swipe your brush in then either which surprised me. I find that generally when makeup is in the form of a palette the quality lacks, but these are very similar to the normal studio elf blushes which i’m happy about. The glittery shade doesn’t come off really shimmery either which is good. It’s basically a matte blush with the odd old fleck of glitter in it. Actually all of the shades are matte, which I prefer in a blush as i’ve got oily skin and It photographs much better as well.

Personally I think this would make a great gift for any beauty lover (even if it is a gift for yourself…) and as Christmas is creeping up on us all, £8 for a gift? Not bad in my book. The individual blushes even pop out, so you could mix and match with the light palette if you were going on a long trip and wanted a variety of blushes.

I wore the top right pink blush today and thought id show you a few pics:SAM_7582SAM_7637

I love how with darker blushes you have the option to wear them sheer or built-up to get a more vibrant look if you’re not going heavy on the eyes or lips. It’s also more universal for different skin tones, and wouldn’t look ashy on darker skins.

Overall:

.Packaging: 9/10

.Pigmentation: 9/10

.Quality: 8/10

Out of the several new product elf released recently, I’d definitely give this one a shot. One thing that’s hard to find in Drugstore makeup is a good matte blush, and here you get 4 for £8. Boom.

Buy it here: http://eyeslipsface.co.uk/en/restofworld/new/studio-blush-palette/invt/83320

Thank you for reading I hope you have a fabulous week! 🙂

XOXO

*The blush palette was sent to me by ELF for review on my blog, however that hasn’t tainted my opinion (frankly, if I didn’t like it, I wouldn’t write about it).

ALSO! Please If you have the time, could you check out my brother’s band’s new music video> https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-EcEFv5_EwI&feature=youtu.be

19 comments on “Elf Studio Blush Palette- Review!

  • So beautiful & it’s encouraged me to definitely invest. I’ve always had a problem finding the perfect blush & this looks like it might get the bill! Amy X

  • Hello! Your reviews are really nice and thorough, like your make up tutorials! Question: I am an eyeliner freak myself and have tried oh so many. Soap and Glory supercat was fine, for a while, until I tried the new one by benefit (push-up liner), but it is a bit pricey, don’t you think? Got the fat supercat, in the hopes of saving some money, but nope, the one by benefit is still better. any suggestions? 🙂

    • Thank you very much! 🙂
      Oh eyeliners are a pain to find the right one. I swear by the Avon supershock gel eyeliner pencil in black. But I use that for my waterline only because it can be a bit awkward using it on the top lashline as it’s quite soft. Though I like the L’Oreal super liner if you’re looking for a liquid liner.
      Hope that helps. xx

  • Leave a Reply

