Frizzy Hair!!! – Tips, Tricks and Shortcuts to smooth hair!

Published October 5, 2014 by majormakeupmadness

Hey guys,

So I’ve struggled with curly, frizzy hair all my life. I have natural curly hair and until recently I always had it straightened, which to wash, blowdry and straighten takes 3 hours! So through trial and error ive found some tricks which have helped me and id like to share.

I was inspired to do this post by the ‘Own your bed head’ campaign by ‘Casper’. Casper is a mattress company, the mattress’ are luxury and made out of latex and memory foam. You can check them out here. > https://casper.com/mattresses

The campaign is all about embracing/helping frizzy hair, because unless you’re one of those godly people blessed with sleek,straight hair, frizz is something  we all have just in different quantities.

Heres my hair today. This is my freshly washed hair when I let it air dry:

SAM_7365

I swear my eyes look slightly dozey here, but oh well. It’s a good representation of myself I guess!

So here are my tips which I find helpful:

.Tying you hair in braids before you sleep, not only gives you beautiful waves the next day with NO EFFORT, but also keeps frizz away as your hair is tied up!
 .
.Hair Argan oils are also a savior. Any hair can benefit from oil and you can keep travel sized bottles with you to smooth fly-aways down throughout the day. Argan oil has literally saved my hair.
 .
.Rinsing your hair with cold water before you get out the shower really helps with frizz aswell, as it seals the cuticle of your hair so it doesn’t frizz.
 .
.If you have dry frizzy hair, use a light conditioner all over you hair when you shower, it weighs your hair down slightly, which is good if you have very damaged hair like me.
 .
.Try not to wash your hair everyday. I find that my curly hair looks bad if I sleep on it, but the next day i’ll wear my hair in a bun. If you have a problem with greasy hair, use dry shampoo to battle through the second day. Washing every other day is much better than everyday, trust me.
 .
.This is an obvious one, but try not to use much heat or dye your hair much (can you sense the hypocrisy?). Only in the last 2 months have I cut down the heat I use and how often I dye my hair, only because my hair was all falling out and breaking.
PLEASE DON’T LET YOURSELF GET TO THAT POINT!  I used to use heat on my hair every day and dying it red every 2-3 weeks. I not only use heat for occasions I want to look nice and dying it every 6-8 weeks.
I hope my tips have helped you, I hope you have a fabulous rest of the week!
Thanks for reading!
XOXO
*I was contacted by casper about the campaign, but I am not sponsored.
12 comments on “Frizzy Hair!!! – Tips, Tricks and Shortcuts to smooth hair!

  • Sleek or curly hair, I really like both on you: it has some Sense& Sensibilty to it this way! You get the nicest waves sleeping with buns, the effect doesn’t last for very long with my hair (which wants to be straightish all the time) but it’s good for the time being.

    • Aw thank you! I dont think its ever possible to get as nice hair with sleeping in buns/braids as you do by using heat. I would love to have straight hair, but I understand how it’d be annoying as it doesnt hold waves very well. :L

  • Leave a Reply

