Prom get ready with me 26/06/14

Published June 27, 2014 by majormakeupmadness

Hey guys,

I appologize for not posting in forever, long story short I had lots of exams and have really bad anxiety, so I had about a month of no sleep. But the exams are over now and im gradually dealing with anxiety.

Now for the exciting stuff, yesterday I had my prom. And whilst prom is often built up to be more than it is, I enjoyed getting ready and 4 hours with new and old friends at prom.

As always, I’ll post the finished makeup look first. SAM_7149

Now to start with no makeup!

Image

Foundation (believe it or not I tried not to over-do it with foundation).

 

Image

Concealer, under my eyes and a bit on my cheeks so ‘blank out’ my skin colour so I could add in colour later with bronzer and blush.

 

Image

 

Translucent Powder

Image

 

Eyebrow wax,powder and setting gel.  This is a monumental moment because I actually like how my eyebrows look here.Image

Eye primer

Image

 

All that glitters eyeshadow all over the lid and on my lower lashline.Image

Woodwinked in the crease.

Image

 

Satin taupe in the outer crease and lid. I also put it on the outer half of my lower lashline.Image

 

Browbone highlight with Brule.   *unexpected lighting change*Image

 

Now for an inner corner highlight!Image

Now for liquid liner on my top lashline and black gel liner on my waterline (Because yano apparantly I cant do anything different with eyeliner).

Image

 

Next for my favourite part, Mascara and eyelashes. I can even tell you how much I love Ardell demi wispie lashes.

Image

Bronzer time.

Image

Neext I apllied a darker contour colour and placed it under my cheekbones and under my chin (because I dont recommended double chins for prom).

Image

Now for a bit of matte coral blush on the apples of my cheeks. I blend it back into the contour so it all blends into eachother.

Image

All thats left is lipstick. Im not the biggest fan of lipgloss so I skipped on that. Image

For my hair, I curled it in sections and back-combed the hair surrounding my face. I then used a ton of hairspray, potentially enough to create another ozone layer.

Image

 

I promised to show what I was wearing in an earlier blog posted when I briefly talked about prom. I had a bit of an adventure finding dresses. The one im wearing was actually my third prom dress. The first I saw in person but they didnt have my size so I ordered it online (it was by Jane Norman by the way). The next I got from Victorias dress, £25 shipping (I almost died when I saw that) and £70 for a custom made dress which was completely different from the picture and made me look like an obese fairy it was this one > http://www.victoriasdress.co.uk/a-line-high-neck-sleeveless-tulle-party-dresses-with-ruffles-fj921.html

In a third attempt for a prom dress, I went shopping in person and despite it not being very prom-like I bought a flamingo dress by the brand Henry Holland.

So here are some pictures I took before I went to prom:

SAM_7161

SAM_71591Dress- Henry Holland   £45   (Size 18 if anyone was wondering…)

Shoes- New Look   £12.99

Clutch- Accessorize   £22

Necklace- Elements  £8.99

 

Makeup

Maybelline baby skin primer

Revlon colorstay foundation- Buff

Collection lasting perfection concealer- cool medium

Paris Berlin concealer palette

Rimmel stay matte powder- Translucent

NYC bronzer- sunny

Sleek contour kit- medium

Sleek blush- coral

Smashbox brow tech- taupe/soft brown

Too faced shadow insurance- candlelight

Mac paintpot- Bare study

Mac powder eyeshadows- Brule, All that glitters, woodwinked, satin taupe

Eyeko skinny liquid liner- black

Avon supershock gel eyeliner pencil- black

Maybelline colossal cat eyes mascara- black

Ardell demi wispie eyelashes

Maybelline lipstick- Tantalizing Taupe

 

So a very long post from me today.

If you have any ideas/requests for future posts, please comment below.

Thank you for reading. Have a nice weekend guys!

XOXO

 

18 comments on “Prom get ready with me 26/06/14

  • Gorgeous makeup and I LOVE your dress, you look fantastic in it and the flamingos are adorable ♥ You have fantastic bone structure but the blush/contour brings out your cheekbones like nothing else, beautiful!!

    • Aw thank you. The thing I love most about my dress is that even though it was a lot different than other peoples, I felt like it reflected me in some obscure way. 🙂
      Contouring is one of my favourite parts of makeup, Im working on mastering it.Thanks for commenting. xx

      • Yeah, I feel like during prom you can get lost in traditional expectations and lose your individuality, which you definitely didn’t 🙂 Hope you had a great time!

  • I love your whimsical fun dress! Wouldn’t dare to order dresses online because of other measurements the waistline could end up way too high and the skirt part as well. The difference that you eyebrows all done make, huge!

    • Aw thank you very much. ‘whimsical’, I like that description! 🙂
      Im now ruined for ‘made to measure’ clothes online, better stick with standard sizing.
      I love how eyebrows completely transform your makeup, Its one of my favourite parts of my makeup to do. xx

  • Leave a Reply

