Prom makeup tutorial! – 2 lip options.

Published March 8, 2014 by majormakeupmadness

Hey guys, So I couldn’t decide whether to do a colourful spring tutorial, or a prom tutorial. But as me and my friends have been scouting around for dresses recently I thought this was more relevant. Despite my prom not being til late june, I know some peoples are as early as april, so I thought it would be a good time to do one.

For this tutorial ive included 2 options, the eyes aren’t colourful so I though youcould get away with red lips or a soft pink. Id personally go for the pink, but each to their own. Here’s the 2 looks:

Look 1

Look 1

Look 2

Look 2

Both looks are exactly the same apart from the lips, so lets get started!

1) After doing your base and eyebrows, prime your eyelids. Make sure you use a long-lasting primer. SAM_6570 2) Next apply a pearl-finish ivory colour across your entire eyelid. SAM_6578 3) Next apply a warm matte brown in your crease and blend. SAM_65864) Next apply a bright gold underneath your lashline. I applied quite a lot but go with the amount you’re comfortable with.SAM_6594 5) Next apply a shimmery white eyeliner in your inner corner. This really brightens up your eye, and if you dont do this step usually- you should! I think it’s universally flattering. SAM_6596 6) For my top lashline I draw a medium-thickness line across my line and get thinner towards my inner corner. If you want to wing the liner out, go ahead. But winged liner isn’t flattering on me personally. For the waterline, use a gold eyeliner. I didn’t have a gold liner so I used white then put the same gold eyeshadow that we just used, and patted that on  top carefully. SAM_66007) Next curl your lashes and apply 2 coats of black mascara to your top and bottom lashes. Afterall, A girls gotta have her mascara! SAM_66048) Next  apply long fake eyelashes to my top eyelashes. I use black eyelash glue, however its quite fiddly so if you’re new to false eyelashes I suggest you use a clear glue so you can tell if you got it everywhere! SAM_66079) Next contour your face with a matte bronzer. Please, please, PLEASE do not use an orange-toned bronzer. It will make a classy look appear tacky and unflattering. SAM_660910) Next apply a blush which looks natural with your skin tone, for me its a light peach. Here’s what id recommend:

.Fair skin- matte earthy brown

.Light skin- matte peach

.Medium skin- matte coral or bronze

.Dark skin- matte muted plum SAM_6611 11) If going for look 1, line your lips with a nude lipliner (and slightly exaggerate your lips if needed) and then apply a lipgloss slightly lighter than your natural lip colour.SAM_6623SAM_6627 12) For look 2, use a matte red lipstick/lip crayon and apply to your lips.SAM_6617SAM_6613   Those are the finished looks! I hope i’ve helped you out if you’e looking for a prom look. Oh course, this isn’t restricted to prom, it could be a going out look or Im just wearing it normally today!

Products Used:

.Benefit porefessional primer

.L’oreal Infallible 24hr foundation- 120 Vanilla

.Collection lasting perfection concealer- Cool Medium

.Elf complexion perfection powder-cool

.Avon glow matte bronzer- medium riviera

.Nyx powder blush- Angel .Nyx eyebrow cake powder- Taupe/ash

.Too Faced shadow insurance- candlelight

.Naked 1 palette (virgin,buck,half-baked)

.Elf studio cream eyeliner- black

.MUA colour intense eyeliner-snow white

.Maybelline one by one mascara

.T-mart lashes   http://www.tmart.com/10-Pairs-Same-False-Eyelashes-P9_p187107.html

.Model co nude illusion lip liner

.Elf hypershine lipgloss-joy

.Revlon colorburst matte balm- Striking

Thanks for reading and your continued support. xxx

16 comments on “Prom makeup tutorial! – 2 lip options.

  • Such a pretty eyelook. Choosing gold is great and I’d go for the muted down lip, because the dress has to be absolutely gorgeous and receiving most of the attention. btw you have so much color in these photos, devamipirized huh.

    • Thank you hun! I completely agree with you, the dress should be the centrepiece to the look. I know right! I tried a different angle where it actually shows my skin as the actual colour. I was so happy! 🙂 x

    • Thank you, I definitely will! I’ll probably be so excited i’ll do a few posts leading up to prom and one afterwards aswell! Id always go for a nude lip aswell, I think the key is to not overdo it by going for something bright. Saying that, I did include a red lip option…
      🙂 xx

  • I really like this look with the pink lips and I could see myself wear this everyday is done without the false lashes and eyeliner (mostly because I’m really bad at applying eyeliner!) 🙂

    • Thank you! I like it with the pink more. I think for my actual prom id go for a more bronzey look with nude lips, there’s still lots of room for improvement yet!.
      I think this would be a lovely everyday look, dont worry we all have those eyeliner days- I wore none today. Sometimes i think it makes the eyeshadow look fresher without eyeliner anyways. 🙂 x

  • Damn I love your hair color! So pretty! And I like the fact that you wear contacts.. I don’t know why I like to see another beauty blogger that wears contacts as well because I don’t feel like I am the only one haha. I mean, I know I’m not the only one (duh!) but sometimes I have a hard time with eyeliners getting my contacts all greasy, or maybe some powder getting into my eyes.. Agh! I always have some problems with black eyeliner. Anyways, cute blog! If you want to check mine, feel free to visit! 😉

    • Aw thank you! Haha, I know what you mean, my eyesight is awful and to top it off I have an astigmatism too! My eyes are approaching -6.00, so you’re not the only one!
      I have some problems with eyeliner with them in, especially gel as it never comes off.
      I love you blog so I will do! 🙂 x

  • Leave a Reply

