Tutorial Time- How I contour and highlight!

Published March 5, 2013 by majormakeupmadness

Hey guys,

So I felt like doing a tutorial and was thinking what to do, when I realised I hadn’t done one of the most basic tutorials. Contouring! Even though its quite simple, it can make a big difference to the way your face looks.

Contouring depends on your face shape (mine is round), you may want to go stronger or lighter. If you already have prominent features you may not need to do much beside blush! As I have a round face (not much definition) I use: Bronzer, Blush and Highlighter (the products I used are at the bottom on the post).

Here is the before and afters: ImageImage

 

I did the tutorial in Flash , so the pictures may look a bit scary. :O

1) First I use my bronzer and put it where I want my face to look slimmer. I use it down the sides of my nose, and in a sideways ‘V’ shape under my cheekbone and the sides of my temples. You can also use it along the hairline. Image

2) Next I do blush. I do my blush before highlight because if I use a blush with shimmer, you don’t really want a glitter overload! I used a matte blush today therefore I will also apply highlight. Its a good rule to follow if you want your contouring to look natural. I apply it on my cheek, not really my apples. I don’t like too much colour in the centre of my face. Image

3) Now for the final touch- highlighter. You don’t always have to use a product designed for highlighting, you can use a light face powder if you don’t want to go shimmery. I just apply this mainly to my cheekbone. I used what’s left down the centre of my nose and my cupids bow. Image

And I just realised I haven’t done my brows! *Gasp*

 

Here are the products I used:

.avon bronzer in medium riviera

.Sleek blush in Pixie Pink

.Elf blush in Gotta glow

Image

 

 

Thank you for reading!

XOXO

 

Leave a Reply

