Acne 101 What? How? Cure? Prevention?

Published July 12, 2012 by majormakeupmadness

Hey guys,

So todays post is going to be about acne (as you can guess from the title). I have had my fair share of acne, it has never been really terrible, but I know what it is like to have bad acne and acne scars. I still struggle with acne, more or less have that under control… its the scars that I have the most problem with.

So, what is acne? Acne is a common disease, which is characterised by red bumps or spots on your face. Acne affects about 9 in 10 people throughout their lives.

How do you get acne? You get spots when your pore (sebaceous gland) gets blocked with dead skin cells, sebum and the hair follicle. Bacteria then grow and you’re left with a spot. However you can get hormonal acne.

People used to use a technique called ‘face mapping’ which is where doctors would be able to diagnose a patient with an illness by seeing where their acne was.

How can I help prevent it?

. Clean your makeup brushes regularly (especially your face brushes, as these can harvest bacteria easily.

. Wash your face in the morning and evening.

. Keep your hands away from your face, your hands hold tons of bacteria and if that goes on your face… well that’s a no no.

. Keep makeup (especially foundation and concealer) to a minimum. If you can ,allow your skin to breathe as much as possible, or you’re just clogging up your pores more.

. Aim to drink atleast 8 glasses of water a day, this tip has helped me the most as drinking loads of water flushes out toxins and clears acne. I you want extra benefits add some lemon juice to your water, as its acids help cleanse your body.

Cure To be honest the preventions help clear acne, however, say you get a whopper of a spot before an event. What do you do? You would use a cream or spot treatment. But that just springs another problem. Which ones are good. I have tried just about every lotion and potion out there. And the clean&clear advantage spot treatment gel which looks like this:Image

It claims to help in 4 hours. I wouldn’t say that but if you put it on over night there is a big difference on my skin. However, I like to use natural skincare, as I find it helps my skin the best. If you want me to do a post on natural skincare and maks etc. Comment below!

So there you go, thats my take on acne. If you have any questions or requests please feel free to leave them below.

Thanks for reading xxx.

4 comments on “Acne 101 What? How? Cure? Prevention?

  • Leave a Reply

