Make brights eyeshadows more wearable!

Published June 5, 2012 by majormakeupmadness

Hey guys,

So todays post is going to be a tutorial with purple eyeshadows, but in a more wearable way. People are often scared of bright colours but…

1) They brighten up your face.

2) They can be seriously flatter your eye colour

3) You only live once, so why not be creative?

I am using purples as they are a perfect example to show you how to make coloured eyeshadow more wearable with the presence of a more neutral colour (e.g. greys,browns,taupes). Purple also flatters all eye colours.

Start with freshly primed lids. I used elf’s eye primer (sheer)

Image

I then apply a light pink shadow to the inner third of my eye, on the top and bottom of my eye. I use Rimmel’s Glam Eye’s Mono Eyeshadow in Precious Rose. Image

I then apply a medium toned purple eyeshadow to the middle of my lid,I do this on the top and bottom of my eye. I use Maybelline’s Eyestudio Mono eyeshadow in Daring Mauve.Image

I then apply a dark purple on the outer third of my eye. Again on the top and bottom of my eye. I use Maybelline’s Eyestudio Mono eyeshadow in Fatal Violet.

You may want to lightly blend the 3 purples together using a fluffy blending brush. Only lightly though, you want to be able to tell there are 3 different shades of eyeshadow on the eye.

ImageHere’s were we make this look more wearable. Apply a matte neutral shadow in the crease to tye the look together. I use a chocolate brown eyeshdaow from maybelline called Chocolate Chic.

I then apply liquid liner on my top lashline. I wing it out slightly, but you dont have to. I use the Collection 2000 Extreme 24 hour felt tip liner in black.

I also apply Mac’s Brule eyeshadow under my brow bone.Image

I curl my lashes and appply mascara. I use 2 different mascaras. I use body shop’s super volume mascara and Too faced Lash Injection Mascara.

I also applied the Body shop’s eye definer in black on the outer third of my bottom lash line.

Image

Heres the finished look!

Heres my top tips for making bright colours wearable on your eyes

. Use more matte shades, as these aren’t as in-your-face as bright,glittery shades.

. Use a matte neutral colour in the crease as I did.

. Dont over-do it with mascara or liner. I would skip liner all the way round the eye, and any dark colours in the waterline.

Hope you liked! Thanks for reading.

Also my friend Klara has just started a blog, theres no posts yet, but check in soon for reveiws on lots of things from makeup to games to films! http://plushycherry.wordpress.com/

XOXO

4 comments on “Make brights eyeshadows more wearable!

  • Leave a Reply

